Africa Initiative for Governance (AIG) Scholarships

To achieve our goal of being a catalyst for public sector transformation, AIG will every year, for five years starting in 2017, fund five scholarships for outstanding West Africans from all backgrounds who are passionate about the public sector, to pursue the Master of Public Policy at the Blavatnik School of Government , University of Oxford. Upon graduation, AIG Scholars will be expected to return to their home country and apply their learning experience as change agents in their country’s public sector.

AIG Scholarships 2019/20 Recipients

AIG is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019/20 AIG Scholarships awards. The awardees are:

  • Adebola Babafemi (Nigeria)
  • Erobu Onyekachukwu (Nigeria)
  • Mohammed Nasir (Nigeria)
  • Onasanya Hakeem (Nigeria)
  • Sarpong Kwame (Ghana)

Hear from the 2019 AIG Scholars

Read Press Release here

Africa Initiative for Governance (AIG) 2020/21 Scholarships

The AIG Scholarships are targeted at graduates between the ages of 25 and 35 with strong intellectual capability, outstanding academic achievements, leadership skills and a passion to contribute to the development of Africa’s public sector.

Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible for consideration for the award of an AIG Scholarship, you must:

  • Be a citizen of Nigeria or Ghana
  • Be between the ages of 25 and 35 years (must not be 36 years old by December 31, 2019)
  • Have a first-class or second-class upper undergraduate degree with honours (or equivalent international qualifications), as a minimum, in any discipline. For applicants with a degree from the USA, the minimum GPA sought is 3.7 out of 4.0
  • Be preferably top 10% of graduating class (First, Second or Master’s Degree) - evidence to be provided
  • Provide evidence of game-changing leadership and resultant impact
  • Show skills and interests outside of academics (evidence to be provided)

Please note that:

  • Academic distinction and leadership potential are key priorities for selection. 
  • In the case of candidates with second-class upper qualifications, a Master’s, second degree or relevant professional qualification will be an advantage.
  • Only applicants shortlisted for the next stage of the selection process will be contacted and any inquiries regarding individual application status are strictly prohibited.
  • Applications sent via post or in person are NOT acceptable.
  • Candidates who emerge as finalists in the Africa Initiative for Governance (AIG) selection process will be expected to apply directly to the Blavatnik School of Government, University of Oxford, for admissions. Finalists who are offered admission to the Master of Public Policy will be considered by the School in the final selection of AIG Scholars.

2020/21 AIG Scholarships Application Window is now open - APPLY HERE

AIG Scholarships 2018/19 Recipients

AIG is pleased to announce the five recipients of the 2018/19 recipients of the AIG Scholarships. The awardees are:

  • Adegbite Adetola (Nigeria)
  • Ajimoti Blessing (Nigeria)
  • Amuquandoh Prosper (Ghana)
  • Chinedu-Okeke Louisa (Nigeria)
  • Nneli Tobechukwu (Nigeria)

Hear from the 2018 AIG Scholars

Read Press Release here

AIG Scholarships 2017/18 Recipients

AIG is pleased to announce the inaugural recipients of the AIG Scholarships. For the opening year of the Scholarships, AIG elected to fund six scholars. The 2017 AIG Scholarships recipients are:

  • Emokiniovo Akpughe (Nigeria)
  • Efosa Trevor Edobor (Nigeria)
  • Abdul-Fatawu Z. Hakeem (Ghana)
  • Chukwunonso Iheoma (Nigeria)
  • Oluwapelumi Simpson (Nigeria)
  • Emmanuel Taiwo (Nigeria)